90. Med School Admission Strategies – Don’t Get Eliminated

Excerpt from this young man’s post, why did I say young man? I have no idea how old he is, but I do know how old I am. I guess sooner or later everyone is young to me.

“Each year, I help review the hundreds of applications we receive at our medical school. Each year, I’m impressed by so many great applicants. It seems like each class just keeps getting better.  So in a pool of hundreds of applicants, many who I have no doubt would make  fine doctors, how do we differentiate each applicant and select a medical class?

Stand out, by NOT standing OUT in the wrong way

Conventional advice is that you should do well in everything. A perfect applicant is someone with a 4.0 GPA, 42T MCAT, tons of research, leadership positions, volunteering opportunities, stellar references and an outstanding interview. On top of all that, you must excel in one thing that makes you unique and memorable.

In reality, I don’t think that’s a realistic goal for most applicants. In fact, only a handful of those “perfect” candidates exist. Instead medical classes are made up of a more diverse group of people. Some medical students have taken time off before applying while others have had alternate careers. Many people have grades that are great but not perfect and MCAT scores that are good enough. They may be play the piano but are not anywhere near a concert pianist.

I think a much better strategy for getting into medical school is to NOT stand out in the wrong way.

For full post read here http://www.medaholic.com/med-school-admission-strategies-dont-get-eliminated/

Leave a comment